Review: Birchbox September 2014 Fresh Paint

Disclosure: This post does include a referral link.

Birchbox_anniversary_September_2014_header

I’m so happy to get my Birchbox so early. When I opened it up, it made total sense. Birchbox and the other subscription boxes are doing better about sending aerosol cans, nail polish and other “hazardous” materials by ground for safety reasons. What does that mean? If your box has any of those kinds of products, you get yours early because it left the warehouse early. YAY!

I have one more month or so of my two subscriptions. I finally realized the one I did not pick a sample shipped first. Tracking hasn’t updated particularly fast and I ignored until my PackageTrackr alert came up. I’ll post about PackageTrackr one day. It’s a basic Web site I use to stalk packages. It does international which is a huge bonus.

Dun dun dun, on my main subscription that’s winding down I got Box #36.

I love this box. I received the Vasanti before. I traded for a Pixi lip balm that I still haven’t tried. My Harvey Prince liquid loofah did show off its liquid by leaking. And while I’m not a dry shampoo fan, I figured out the Macadamia Professional cleansing conditioner is a in-shower use product. Duh. I couldn’t read the fuzzy printing too well. Overall, it’s awesome. I’m a highlighter though I’m not great at it.

Breaking down each goodie:

I’ve used this before and loved. The Vasanti Cosmetics BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvinator is a nice microdermabrasion product. There is a little concern since it uses tiny beads and how it’s bad for the water supply. I do love how it makes my skin feel afterward. The beads are much smaller than most similar products. I do wish it was better for the environment.

This I literally just tried. I was lazy about washing my hair and assumed the Macadamia Professional Flawless Cleansing Conditioner was a use-with-dry-hair product. Nope. There is French on the packaging, too. It smells heavenly. It’s a nice foam that lathers well. I washed and rinsed my hair eventually. My wet hair is awesome to the touch and seriously, it smells awesome. It’s not too strong. I haven’t put it to the cat test, though. My one big beef. It keeps oozing out of the can. I came back to this after I rinsed my hair.

Birchbox_anniversary_September_2014_macadamia_natural_oil_ooze

C’est la vie!

This baby, I traded for one the last time it was a sample in boxes. I didn’t previously get the Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm in my box and wanted to try it. I had swapped for the Pixi Pink.

Birchbox_anniversary_September_2014_pixi_swatch

This time I got Honey Nectar, a lovely nude. I like that it locks into place when twisted down. It’s quite pretty.

The Harvey Prince Ageless Liquid Loofah smells nice. I know because it leaked into my box. It got the tissue paper. Thankfully that was all. It’s supposed to smell like pink grapefruit and vanilla botanicals. It’s much sweeter scented. It took a bit of the sting out of the grapefruit. It’s a good scent and unique from other brands.

I messaged Birchbox Customer Service that it happened. I didn’t ask for anything in particular. It was more of a thank you for not leaking until my last box. That’s a pretty good record. Aliya replied saying they were out of the liquid loofah sample and they’d credit me 100 points or in Birchboxland, $10 of store credit. I didn’t ask, but it’s nice to get.

Last but not least the TEMPTU S/B Highlighter in champagne shimmer. I’ve been noticed my cheekbones are pretty weak. I’m not big on blush. I had been using an Etude House Nymph Aura for a dewy glow. It’s essentially the same idea. My full size didn’t live up to my sample so this might be a good alternative. The sample is .1 fl oz. I’m pretty sure you won’t need much.

For my other box, this is what it looks like I’m getting. It is the 10th after all and box contents are up for viewing. Woohoo!

Birchbox_anniversary_September_2014_otherbox

I’m excited by the Shiseido, my sample of choice. The Tocca hand cream is a bonus. I love the Tocca line. And look another TEMPTU highlighter. Fun times! What are you getting?

If you haven’t already signed up to Birchbox, there is still time for great boxes of samples. I’d appreciate it if you used my referral link. Thanks!

5 responses to “Review: Birchbox September 2014 Fresh Paint

Leave a comment